Sunday Sessions: Hackney Wick

My Sundays are too often spent sleeping in late or curled up on the sofa however the this past Sunday I was adamant to take advantage of what London has to offer. I found myself wondering the canals in Hackney Wick – one of my favourite parts of London. Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset It is vibrant, energising and full of an eclectic mix of art galleries, bars, cafes and restaurants. After wondering around for a while we arrived at our chosen destination The Counter Café  inside the Stour Space, a studio/art gallery/ performance space. IMG_2562 It was here I had the best brunch I have had in a long long time. The café has a great view of the canal with the olympic stadium in the near distance. It is airy, casual and is the type of place I could imagine spending a couple of hours reading a good book. Now! Back to that food. I went for Turkish Eggs and toast and wow just wow. It was the ideal mix of tomato, perfectly poached eggs and garlicy dill yogurt. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetMy sister went for Eggs benedict with Smoked salmon and I easily could have gone back for a portion of that. IMG_3911 The cafe has the added benefit of monthly exhibitions so you get to browse and look at the art after your done. Satisfied to the brim we headed over to the Olympic park just a stones throw away to have a look at some of the Year of the Bus sculptures. Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset These are painted bus sculptures celebrating accessible public art and London buses. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset I think this one was by far my favorite! The fluorescent colours is such a great look on the British soilders… Don’t you think?! Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset (Coat: Zara, Jeans: Jamie @ Topshop) And check out the Orbit behind. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Although this one did make me chuckle.. CumulonimBUS .. get it?! Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetDays like this make me want to get my bum off that sofa and explore are much as london.. and its Brunches as I can!

‘Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover’ Mark Twain

Today is the first day of the rest of your life.

It starts with something.

C

3 thoughts on “Sunday Sessions: Hackney Wick

Leave a Reply

