Mountains, Skiing and Serenity.

There is something about being in the mountains that makes me feel so peaceful. It is a combination of the beautiful scenery, fresh air and excitement of getting back onto my skis and on the slopes.

I love living in London but being in a city is sometimes overwhelming and claustrophobic so getting out of the city and the country is something I look forward too. I am lucky enough to have a family home in the French Alps which means I have the ability to get away there frequently… and in a way it is the only place I really feel like I can let go, relax without feeling lazy or lethargic. For those of you who have been skiing or snowboarding may understand the attachment and longing for getting back to the mountains that I feel. For those of you who haven’t or don’t enjoy it … there crisp air, towering mountains, alpine forests and French food for sure have enough beauty themselves to make visiting worth while.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetIMG_3387 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset The town I visit is called Morzine.. it is in the just across from the border or Switzerland in the ski area ‘ Les portes du soleil’ or ‘ the doors of the sun’ which is one of the biggest in Europe. The area has everything from easy green slopes for beginners to amazing off Piste. IMG_3575IMG_3294

When I am skiing it is one of the best feelings, and sorry to be cliché but wind in your hair, the thrill of speed and the sense of adventure is awe-inspiring… plus when else on holiday do you get to spend all day outside exercising! Lets not forget the amazing alpine restaurants.. piling into those cosy little chalet restaurants when its freezing outside for a cheesy meal and glass (or a few) of wine is one of the best parts of the day.. and partially guilt free. One of my favourite restaurants in Les Portes du soleil is called Chez Babeth. It is up in the mountain at the end of a little alley of restaurants almost hidden away like a little well known secret. The restaurant looks like Christmas all year round with tonnes of decorations and teddy bears.. it really is like nowhere else and does a fantastic pizza! I went there for my birthday this year and was dragged up and sung to by this crazy lady who owns the place.. talk about embarrassing! IMG_3371 Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset IMG_3374

There really is something to be said living in a place so beautiful, don’t get me wrong London is amazing in its own ways but I am drawn to the mountains for the clarity and respite I get there.

Earlier this year when I was suffering with anxiety I happened to be going out there. As soon as I arrived it was as if I could switch off. That could be because I was in holiday mode, but I spent 5 months living in the mountains a couple of years back and honestly was never happier.

Because of the lifestyle I lead moving out there isn’t really an option for right now but in the back of my mind I always know I have somewhere to escape to if I need and that is enough for now… It starts with something.

Today is the first day of the rest of your life. C

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

