Exercise, Endorphines and Motivation.

Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.. and happy people just don’t kill people.

I know Legally Blonde isn’t exactly a ground-breaking movie but that line is one that has stuck with me since my teenage years. My relationship with excersie has always been a flippant one. I played on sports teams at school and university, had love affairs with a gym.. enjoyed the occasional run and exercise class but I have never been very consistent or kept to a long term routine… something I am sure many people can empathise with.

My major problem is captivation perhaps. I am easily bored and have struggled to be reliable or committed to a routine. The thought of new classes is great but I often get home from work with all intentions of going to the gym but the draw of relaxing on the sofa wins.

Don’t get me wrong I love exercise I just have a struggle with motivation. I sometimes find it easier to exercise when I am somewhere new.. I think building it into exploration makes is more fun. I recently went to Miami and absolutely loved going on runs and bike rides along the beach. It made me wish I could do that everyday. I guess you could say that holiday breathes a new energy into you..but its that kind if feeling I wish I always had when I am back home because of how much I enjoyed it. Although running in freezing english winter doesn’t really compare to the gorgeous Miami beaches!!

IMG_3060

IMG_3132

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Since I have been struggling with anxiety and my ear clicking I really think exercise is something that helps. I have invested in a personal trainer recently and am trying.. fairly successfully… to do Pilates regularly.

What exercise does for me is create a distraction from thoughts in my head or how I am feeling. It certainly has a beneficial effect on the neurological system and when I leave a session I always feel happier and have a clearer mind. I feel like I am constantly learning something new from my trainer…. I know some people with think its an unnecessary luxury but I feel like having someone else who is invested in your health is a real help.

As I learn more about the benefits of exercise I hope to share these… and hopefully work on my commitment issues…It starts with something.

Today is the first day of the rest of your life.

C

One thought on “Exercise, Endorphines and Motivation.

  1. I had the same problem. I made the decision about a year ago to wake up early each day, get a treadmill and a bowflex machine. I did it. It worked out great for me. At first it was tough, but now I couldn’t live without my morning routine. It is ME time and I love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

